Events + Teaching

Past and upcoming events

Back to All Events

Kate O'Brien Award

The shortlist of writers for the Kate O'Brien Award 2019 has been announced. The nominees are:
Eileen Battersby, Teethmarks on my Tongue

Rebecca O'Connor, He is Mine and I Have no Other

Caroline O’Donoghue, Promising Young Women

Dervla McTiernan, The Ruin

Sue Rainsford, Follow me to Ground

The Kate O'Brien Award was established in 2015. It celebrates new Irish writing by a female author. It was established by the organising committee of the Kate O'Brien Weekend to celebrate Irish Women's Writing in memory of Kate O'Brien. It is an honorary award which celebrates debut Irish fiction; this award is a great affirmation for the debut winner and a recognition of the literary quality of the book. There is a presentation to the winner at the Limerick Literary Festival in honour of Kate O'Brien.

We celebrate the shortlisted authors and the winner on the Sunday of the Festival after the Kate O'Brien lecture with photographs and press coverage.

Earlier Event: 14 December
Basic Talks ~ Sue Rainsford
Later Event: 4 March
Visiting Lecturer @ GMIT